Global shipping/customs ProbsDifference in surface mail wait time between different shops

• mercelia
    merceliaRegular Boarder • lv7
    Offline8 Antworten
    Vor 3 Monaten • Aktualisiert Vor 3 Monaten
    [Edit] Thank you guys for answering my question! I think I have a better understanding now. I would delete this forum since I don't need it anymore, but I'm not sure how to do that [End edit]

So this may be a dumb question, sorry if it is. But why is it some stores take significantly longer to ship through surface mail than others?

I'm still fairly new to the figure community, I only got more serious about it this year. I've ordered a few figures, all through surface mail since it's cheaper. Every shop seems to say it will take 2-3 months to arrive, which is perfectly fine by me.

But after ordering from several different shops, I've noticed that's not true at all for some stores. My order from Ninoma arrived after 3 months just like they said. My order from Solaris is nearing 3 months now, so I'm hoping it will arrive soon.

But an order I made on Ukiyo Kumo back in January keeps getting pushed back, and after emailing them and asking them about it they said it won't arrive until around August or October, and I haven't even been given a tracking number. They've assured me that my figures are secure, but I can't help but feel nervous that I will never get them.

Does "surface mail" mean different things depending on what shop you are using? And how can I know which ones will take 2-3 months and which will take 9-10 months?
  • TheFangKing23
    TheFangKing23Regular Boarder • lv7
    Offline4 Antworten
    Vor 3 Monaten • Aktualisiert Vor 3 Monaten
    merceliaVor 3 Monaten#110727703So this may be a dumb question, sorry if it is. But why is it some stores take significantly longer to ship through surface mail than others?